July 23, 2014

Wednesday Wishes

Filler


Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater

blue-lily-lily-blueGet it: Amazon | Goodreads
Genre: Paranormal Young Adult
Series: The Raven Cycle, book 3

The third installment in the mesmerizing series from the irrepressible, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Maggie Stiefvater.

While I have some issues with the title of this book, I want it so much!! I’m waiting for it to release before I read the second book. Because the wait in between the first and second was horrid. And to be honest there is so much going on that this is a series that’s better to binge read.

 

What I Thought Was True by Huntley Fitzpatrick

what-i-thought-was-trueGet it: Amazon | Goodreads
Genre: Contemporary Romance Young Adult
Series: N/A

From the author of My Life Next Door comes a swoony summertime romance full of expectation and regret, humor and hard questions.

Gwen Castle's Biggest Mistake Ever, Cassidy Somers, is slumming it as a yard boy on her Nantucket-esque island this summer. He's a rich kid from across the bridge in Stony Bay, and she hails from a family of fishermen and housecleaners who keep the island's summer people happy. Gwen worries a life of cleaning houses will be her fate too, but just when it looks like she'll never escape her past—or the island—Gwen's dad gives her some shocking advice. Sparks fly and secret histories unspool as Gwen spends a gorgeous, restless summer struggling to resolve what she thought was true—about the place she lives, the people she loves, and even herself—with what really is.

A magnetic, push-me-pull-me romance with depth, this is for fans of Sarah Dessen, Jenny Han, and Deb Caletti.

Normally I don’t really read or get into Contemporary of, any kind. But occasionally a YA title catches my eye. With Khanh’s hard one 4 star review how could I pass it up! Plus, this quote has me wanting to know more:

Just sex. Am I never going to be anything more than somebody’s strategy, a destination marked off on a road map and then passed through for someplace better?

Just a Kiss by Ally Broadfield

just-a-kiss-ally-broadfieldGet it: Amazon | Goodreads
Genre: Historical Romance
Series: It’s In His Kiss, book 0.5

Charlotte Lightwood has one season to find a husband or she'll be forced to marry her guardian's loathsome cousin. With no title or dowry, she doesn't have much hope of making a good match. Sebastian Wilkinson, the Earl of Marley, has been the most eligible bachelor on the marriage mart for more years than he cares to count and is very aware of his duty to marry a woman who will add to the wealth and stature of his title. Sebastian makes Charlotte an offer she can't refuse: he will pretend to court her to help her attract more suitors in exchange for her advice about which ladies he should pursue. As they work together, their mutual attraction grows. When they realize they just might be perfect for one another, they must decide whether to bow to the dictates of society or follow their hearts.

A Historical Romance made it on my list, even more it’s a short story!! What! However, I love the premise of this book and the glowing reviews.

2 comments:

Dazzling Mage said...

Blue Lily, Blue Lily looks SO GOOD! And I think I've heard initial good things about What I Thought Was True.

Great wishlist!

Shera BookWhispers said...

Thanks!!