February 17, 2010

Wednesday Wishes

Wednesday Wishes follows My Wishlist, which is a meme hosted by Book Chick City that posts every Saturday. This just allows fellow readers to see what books other readers are itchy to get.


This week I found a lot of good books while wandering around other blogs!
 
Incarceron (Incarceron, #1)

Incarceron -- a futuristic prison, sealed from view, where the descendants of the original prisoners live in a dark world torn by rivalry and savagery. It is a terrifying mix of high technology -- a living building which pervades the novel as an ever-watchful, ever-vengeful character, and a typical medieval torture chamber -- chains, great halls, dungeons. A young prisoner, Finn, has haunting visions of an earlier life, and cannot believe he was born here and has always been here. In the outer world, Claudia, daughter of the Warden of Incarceron, is trapped in her own form of prison -- a futuristic world constructed beautifully to look like a past era, an imminent marriage she dreads. She knows nothing of Incarceron, except that it exists. But there comes a moment when Finn, inside Incarceron, and Claudia, outside, simultaneously find a device -- a crystal key, through which they can talk to each other. And so the plan for Finn's escape is born ...


Other
Other by Karen Kincy

Seventeen-year-old Gwen hides a dangerous secret: she’s Other. Half-pooka, to be exact, thanks to the father she never met. Most Americans don’t exactly roll out the welcome mat for Others, especially not the small-town folks of Klikamuks, Washington. As if this isn’t bad enough, Gwen’s on the brink of revealing her true identity to her long-time boyfriend, Zack, but she’s scared he’ll lump her with the likes of bloodthirsty vampires and feral werewolves.
When a pack of werewolves chooses the national forest behind Gwen’s home as their new territory, the tensions in Klikamuks escalate-into murder. It soon becomes clear a serial killer is methodically slaying Others. The police turn a blind eye, leaving Gwen to find the killer before the killer finds her. As she hunts for clues, she uncovers more Others living nearby than she ever expected. Like Tavian, a sexy Japanese fox-spirit who rivals Zack and challenges her to embrace her Otherness. Gwen must struggle with her own conflicted identity, learn who she can trust, and-most importantly-stay alive.

Girl in the Arena
Girl in the Arena by Lise Haines

It’s a fight to the death—on live TV—when a gladiator’s daughter steps into the arena

Lyn is a neo-gladiator’s daughter, through and through. Her mother has made a career out of marrying into the high-profile world of televised blood sport, and the rules of the Gladiator Sports Association are second nature to their family. Always lend ineffable confidence to the gladiator. Remind him constantly of his victories. And most importantly: Never leave the stadium when your father is dying. The rules help the family survive, but rules—and the GSA—can also turn against you. When a gifted young fighter kills Lyn’s seventh father, he also captures Lyn’s dowry bracelet, which means she must marry him... For fans of The Hunger Games and Fight Club, Lise Haines’ debut novel is a mesmerizing look at a world addicted to violence—a modern world that’s disturbingly easy to imagine.

The Diviners by Libba Bray

The Diviners is a supernatural fantasy series set in Manhattan during the 1920s that follows a teen heroine reminiscent of two of the era's most famous literary women—Zelda Fitzgerald and Dorothy Parker


Tempest Rising (Jane True, #1)

Tempest Rising by Nicole Peeler

Living in small town Rockabill, Maine, Jane True always knew she didn't quite fit in with so-called normal society. During her nightly, clandestine swim in the freezing winter ocean, a grisly find leads Jane to startling revelations about her heritage: she is only half-human.

Now, Jane must enter a world filled with supernatural creatures alternatively terrifying, beautiful, and deadly- all of which perfectly describe her new "friend," Ryu, a gorgeous and powerful vampire.
It is a world where nothing can be taken for granted: a dog can heal with a lick; spirits bag your groceries; and whatever you do, never-ever rub the genie's lamp.

If you love Sookie Stackhouse, then you'll want to dive into Nicole Peeler's enchanting debut novel
 

These all sound so good. I can't wait to make them mine. The Tempest Rising cover looks so great and it is a nice breath of air from the other UF covers. Girl in the Arena sounds so rebel, I can't wait for it's paperback release.

7 comments:

✖Mizz Yasmin✖ said...

If you want Incarceron, check this link.
http://www.book-crazy.com/2010/02/incarceron-by-catherine-fisher-review.html

Chrissie said...

They all sound like really good books!

Kelly Peres said...

Good Choice all of them sound so good!! Incarceron is on mine this week as well!! Ohhh the book Other just added it to my must buy list lol when released!! The girl in the arena im looking into it right now!! and question the Diviners By Libba Bray is that out yet??

My Wishlist is
<a href="http://midnightglance.blogspot.com/2010/02/on-my-wish-list-2.html> Here</a>

Tricia said...

Great list! I really like the sound of Other and Girl in the Arena!

Ladybug said...

I actually have all of those books on my wishlist except for the Libba Bray novel(that one was new to me). We must have an excellent wishlist taste ;)

Shera (Book Whispers) said...

Mizz Yasmin: Thanks for the link. Though I must confess the reveiw has me second guessing the book.

Kelley: I'm way excited for Others too. The wiat is taking forever. Diviners does not yet have a release date. Bummer!

Ladybug: Totally we rock! ^_-

JK, you all rock. Thanks for the comments!

Lori said...

I am interesting in reading Others as well. Here's Mine